Cindy & DT: Recipe for Pain


If you are not a Crossfitter, you probably won’t recognize the names above.

Carl told me to do Crossfit Lemont’s WOD and to do it at 80%. So, I showed him the above WOD to which he said:

“Forget 80%. Hit it as hard as possible.”

Cindy is 5 Pull Ups, 10 Push Ups, 15 Squats

DT is 12 deadlifts, 9 hanging cleans, 6 push presses.

Seems simple right? Well, yesterday, it alternated a total of 3 rounds each varying in amount. I wiffed my time because during a clean, I didn’t do it properly and my shoulder shot out. Not the first time it has happened, mind you. I need to be mindful of my form.

Let me tell you, it was not a fun WOD. But, I did it and that’s what matters most!

I am so very sore. Especially in my legs. But, I am one of those weirdos that thrives off of the physical soreness. It makes me smile.

One thing I have to remember, too, is that I took two weeks off (supplemented with FitBit so I was at least moving) so my weights are going to drop for a bit. But, I’ll get back up there. I was surprised how light the RX was and realized why it was. Eventually, it’s difficult. Not to mention my palms were on fire. I gotta go back to wearing gloves.

Today, Carl said I am going to hate him for the WOD he is going to send me. I explained to him that I hate every WOD he sends me but I gotta do it for a healthier me and my goal of the wedding.

Speaking of, some dates have been updated.

  • 1 year and some change till my sister’s wedding.
  • 2 years on the nose for my best friend’s wedding. 
  • 3 years till Mike and I renew vows in NOLA.

So, I gotta push it. 

Sometimes, I see others just excelling and losing a ton of weight but I have to remember that it took me ten years to get to my weight and ten years for me do unhealthy things. It takes time and I just gotta be patient. 

I will say, since starting FitBit, my physical weight numbers have gone down little by little. I weighed myself in Atlanta and my weight had gone down by five pounds so that has to be something.  

Thanks for reading, all 8 of you. It makes me happy to see you’re cheering me on. 

Leave a Reply

