Mondays Can be Savage (Race).

preview

My Mantra, TBH.

It’s Monday! Which means a new start to this week.

Carl forgot to send me my workout Saturday. But, fear not, we are back in the saddle today. He blamed it on margaritas (because of course he did).

MONDAY

Warm Up

  • Nice, slow 800 meter jog for warmup.
  • Stretch.

Strength

OTM x 10 minutes

  • (O) 40 sec ME Wall Balls
  • (E) 40 sec ME AKBS

Back Squat 5 x 13-15 reps. In between sets, run in place for 1 minute (high knees) and then rest for 90 seconds till the next set of Back Squats.

WOD – AS FAST AS POSSIBLE

  • 800 meter run
  • 1000 meter row
  • 100 Wall Balls (20# to 8-9′)
  • 150 RKBs

COOL DOWN

  • Hip stretches.

Gonna be a hell of a start to the week. Luckily, Mike is coming this time. He’s been so busy at his new fancy brewer job that by the time he gets home, he is absolutely exhausted. Going to the box is not bad alone but sometimes, I like having a partner.

SAVAGE RACE

You will probably notice a brand new shiny countdown button on the right of the page. I will be counting down as it makes me more aware that it is on its way. It’s in June of next year but I got a little less than a year to train.

I’ll need to be able to run a mile, unbroken. Seems simple, right? As one of the worst runners, it’s going to be a challenge. I plan to run every day (thanks to Coach Carl, he forces me to run almost every workout!) in order to build better stamina.

I will need my entire body for this race. But, the most important things I will need are:

  • Good running time.
    • Plan: Run every workout in some capacity, preferably, starting at a half mile and working my way up.
  • Better grip.
    • Plan: Every workout, hang from the bar as long as possible. Also, grip exercises.
  • Better core strength.
    • Plan: KBS, Situps, MB Situps, Hallow Holds.

I think all three of those are fair and reasonable things that are challenging but not so challenging that I am going to give up easily.

I hope your week is filled with gains and love! Keep it up and I’ll see you at the bar.

Leave a Reply

