Mental Health 

A day late but!

Yesterday was World Mental Health Day. I think that it’s important to remember this day every day but I wanted to express my love for anyone who struggles.

As mentioned here before, I struggle with high functioning anxiety. That means that when I lose control, I become bitter and mean and paranoid. I struggle to talk to people or confront them with my feelings. I think of 3,000 scenarios every night of how much people don’t like me and how I will lose my job. I push people away because I believe I am hurting them.

This, of course, has calmed down immensely. I still slip sometimes. But, all I can do is keep going. Always forward. 

You can workout all day but if you’re mental and emotional health is suffering, you may actually harm your physical health in the process.

So, what do we do?

Glad you asked, friend.

If you’re ever struggling with mental health, do not be embarrassed. It’s okay. The first step is admitting you need help. 

The next step is seeking help. There are hundreds of outlets out there now where you can talk to a therapist. If you don’t like your first one, continue to shop around. Therapists understand if you don’t click. Find someone who fits you best.

Third step and most important step, don’t stop going. I have a friend who went through some heavy situations, went to therapy for a month, and stopped because she thought she was better. This is the worst thing you can do. 

Your mental health issues will never go away. But, you can learn to control it through practice, sometimes medicine, and definitely talking to your therapist and being honest. They’re there to help you.

Crossfit, for me, makes my anxiety go away. On my worst days where I want to scream, being under that bar makes it just quiet down for a bit. But, I do need to continue practicing my breathing and my techniques. It’s the only way I can be better.

Exercise might not make you feel better. But, only you can make that decision. 

At the end of this quick post, I say this:

You’re not alone. Going to therapy is amazing and you should never be ashamed of asking for help. I am here for you, friend. 

Leave a Reply

