2016: Year in Review

Well, it’s almost the New Year.

This year has been up and down and back again. I was pretty consistent with diet and workout up until last month where it turned sporadic.

We have a new team member that I needed to train and now, he’s off for a week so I am juggling two jobs. Late hours have happened but it ends this weekend. 

I did, however, complete one major goal.

That major goal was doing a box jump. This seems SUPER easy to do but my brain would not allow me to even breathe near a box. This was huge for me.

I did go to Crossfit three-four times a week up until last month.

I went over 200# on my backsquat.

I went over 275# on my deadlift.

I had some challenging weeks with Coach Carl. He’s off the map again so I am on my own. This time, I am not waiting around for him. I love and respect my Coach but the distance of two states seems to be almost impossible. I think I was in my mind that I would reach my goal this year but I waited and I can’t do that to myself.

Eating healthy is becoming second nature for Mike and I. It was a challenge, don’t get me wrong but finally he likes healthy stuff and we had a nice long talk yesterday. Now that Mike is a brewer, he works out every single day and asking to do Crossfit is a daunting task. Since I am at my desk all day, I don’t get this luxury. But, after explaining how important it is to me, he understands that he has to go with me. I love support systems. They work well.

I picked up smoking again (I know, I know) but gonna try again after Midwinter. I told Mike I would quit before and he laughed and laughed. That convention is the most stressful one next to GenCon. So, Tuesday after Midwinter, I am gonna try again. For those who have done this, it’s not easy. I just gotta pull the trigger and stick with it.

So, now onto 2017.

  • Run a mile, unbroken. 
  • Quit smoking.
  • Crossfit at least three times a week.
  • Keep up with my FitBit steps.
  • If I miss Crossfit, I will do an at home WOD, no questions.
  • Switch from beer to red wine.
  • Continue eating healthy.
  • Pay more attention to form. 
  • Do an assisted pull-up. Another head game of mine. I know I can do it but my body is not having it.
  • Do the Rennisance Diet after Midwinter.
  • Check in and record my progress.
  • Use a measuring tape for real and throw out the scale.

Rewards for completion:

  • New wardrobe.
  • Scrub cleaning the bathroom of smoke stains and re painting it. 
  • Teeth whitening.
  • New workout gear.
  • A rower.

What are your resolutions? I believe in you. I know we can do this together.

8 thoughts on “2016: Year in Review

Leave a Reply

