Week 2 & Eating Habits

Well, weighed myself and lost 10 lbs my first week. This is normal for first week exercise/dieters. You lose a crap ton of weight the first week and then it levels out to one to two lbs (sometimes) every week after. I am glad I lost the initial 10 because that number was not a good one.

Last week, I went to the gym four times which is awesome! I did body weight on the third and fifth day. I need to incorporate more strength training but I have been gun shy at the gym. I finally found the weight section today and will be trying it out this week.

Motivation

  • My sister’s wedding in September.
  • Laura and Justin’s wedding in April 2018.
  • Not dying before 35.

Today, I rocked the elliptical for the first time in many moons. My FitBit was not having it, sadly, and only recorded half of my steps. I did 30 minutes and 3 miles and my FitBit was like, “Great job on that one mile, champ!” I gotta just keep moving.

So, I don’t tell many people this because it’s not a topic of discussion, but my healthy eating habits come from my sister, Jodi. On the right, she was 290 lbs. She’s now a cool 150 lbs and rocking out for her wedding in September. She did Weight Watchers and the gym (she taught me to schedule the gym like meetings and I live and die by that) a few times a week.


Here are some tips that I learned from her and I hope they help you! Not one size fits all (and I am not professional!) so see what works best for you. 

  • Eating slow. Put food in mouth, chew 30 times, swallow, put fork down, wait five seconds, repeat. This seems super tedious, but it helps you recognize your full limits faster.
  • Stuffed does not equal full. You’ll know when you get full when you feel full and satisfied. Stuffed is when you’re in a food coma and can barely move after. Knowing the difference will help.
  • When eating a salad, get the dressing on the side and not on top. Before stabbing your salad, dip your fork in the dressing on the side. You’ll use about a half less and each bite has a full flavor of dressing. 
  • When eating out, ask the server to give you half the order and wrap the other half for you. When eating out, portion control is difficult so cutting it in half will be a huge help. And you get a surprise leftover later.
  • Water. When you’re hungry? Drink a cup of water and wait. Your body may be thirsty. If you’re not hungry, you answered that question.
  • Got a sweet tooth like me? If you’re hard craving bad desserts and treats, brush your teeth. You can always, of course, eat healthier treats but if you’re in a pinch, brushing your teeth will get rid of the craving.
  • Never deprive yourself. If you love tacos, try a healthier version, get a small version, or treat yourself on a rare occasion. My sister loved her frappachinos so she would get a tall rather than a venti once in a great while. When you swear off food you like, you’ll crash and be more tempted to try it.
  • Quick diets should be temporary. I learned this from a friend who is a nutritionist, too. Last year, Mike and I did Paleo for two months and then went back to normal healthy eating. Diet change is good but the really difficult ones (Paleo, Whole30, etc.) should be done in bursts. A lot of those diets take away important stuff. The plus side of those diets, however, is that you will find ways to be creative.
  • Make food. Stop ordering out. Key! Mike and I found not only is it healthier to do but we save a ton of money while we are at it. Ordering out is okay now and then but it’s always a roulette on the nutrition and macro count.
  • Try 2-3 new veggies or fruit a week. I found to love cauliflower this way (I remembered how much I hated it before). If you don’t like something, try cooking it a different way (I love fresh spinach but cooked spinach makes me gag.)
  • Count everything you put in your mouth. Every single thing. Even if you take a taste? Count it. 
  • Going out? Eat beforehand. You’ll end up picking and grazing on a small dish than a big one.
  • Going to a party? Bring a dish you can share that’s healthy. I do this with hummus and veggies – always a hit and great for you!

Tomorrow, I am going to elliptical again and then weight training! Very exciting! I like the ability to have freedom to go whenever I want.

Enjoy your weeks, swolemates!

2 thoughts on “Week 2 & Eating Habits

Leave a Reply

