Week 4: The Hardest Discussion

As I am eating my carrots and hummus, I thought I would give an update.

Last week, I dragged and went to the gym once and I did a workout video at home that was brutal. I am not going to beat myself up about it but instead just get right back into it. I know I have to leave within the next hour, however, or the gym is a huge party and everyone is the world is invited.

I had a discussion with my friend J.R. after he returned from my Crossfit Box on Thursday. We talked about what works for us and what doesn’t work for us. I have been enjoying my time at Planet Fitness because I can go in, not talk to anyone, put my earbuds in, and rock out on my workout. This actually works best for me.

Our Crossfit Box, recently, decided to get political. While I am always down for community, it went in the opposite direction. Without details, we have an image around the box now that is a bit unsettling and I am not sure how to bring it up to my Head Coach. I want to go back to Crossfit, but I am battling with it. I could easily go to the box, keep my head down, workout, and move on. But, right now, I am not too comfortable with it.

Which sucks, honestly. But, I have to make a decision on if I go back or if I go to another box. That’s the joy, I think, of fitness in general. You don’t have to stick around for the same exact workout at the same exact location. I enjoy trying new things and I hope that you do, too.

What was nice about the conversation, however, was that we both were supportive of each other’s processes. I find that in the fitness world (of any kind), there is this weird competition that is unspoken of. If you Crossfit, people will tell you that you’re an addict. If you lift at a gym, but don’t Crossfit, you should be doing Crossfit. If your friend dances and does yoga throughout the week, they’ll probably tell you why it is the best.

Here’s the problem with that. There is no perfect workout regime that is a one-size fits all situations.

Any movement of any kind is good and you have to find out what works best for you. This goes along with, too, the other side of it. If your friend reaches out to you and asks what works best for you, always remember that it might not work best for them.

People have asked me about Crossfit and I tell them, “I love it! It’s a lot of fun and I really enjoy the community atmosphere. But, it’s not for everyone.” I see it all the time on social media where people will get in drag out fights over what is the best thing. Don’t be that person in the drag out fight. If someone asks, hey, what kinds of workouts do you do? Tell them! But, be supportive of their fitness decision. That’s the most important thing.

If you’re just starting in fitness, I highly suggest you try something new every week. If you have the funds, I suggest you try ClassPass in which you can try different classes through the month and see what works best for you. The whole point, however, of fitness and being the best you is you have to find what is best for you. Same goes for dieting. A nutritionist will never give the same exact diet to every person. They cater it to fit the person and see what works best for them.

What matters most is that you move. You get to decide how. No one else (except a licensed professional.)

I am off to the gym, now. I hope your weeks are amazing like you!

2 thoughts on “Week 4: The Hardest Discussion

  1. Ugh I hate that politics have gotten into the mix. Especially with the way the politics are going right now. Crossfit communities should feel safe! Not uncomfortable. I’m sorry that’s going on. My guess is you should mention it, it could be alienating someone else and cause bad business. But I love your approach to fitness, it’s so true! Everyone has something that works for them and that’s the beauty of the Fitness world. You got this, boo!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

